The MNCM Board of Directors

Our board helps to set the strategic direction and priorities for MNCM.


  • Board ChairTim Hernandez, MD, Entira Family Clinics
  • Board Vice ChairBeth Averbeck, MD, Associate Medical Director for Primary Care, HealthPartners
  • Cara Broich, RN, CPHQ, Director, Quality Improvement & Credentialing, Medica
  • Stacia Cohen, RN, MBA, Vice President, Center of Excellence, Star and Risk Adjustment, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota
  • Jon Christianson, PhD, James A. Hamilton Chair in Health Policy, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota
  • J. Kevin Croston, MD, Chief Executive Officer,  North Memorial Health
  • Bentley Graves, Director Health Care and Transportation Policy, MN Chamber of Commerce
  • Lynn Hassan Jones, MD, Co-Director of MRI, Mankato Clinic
  • David Homans, MD, Chief of Specialty Services, Park Nicollet Health Services
  • Larry Lee, MD, FACP, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, UCare
  • Mark Matthias, MD, Vice President for Medical Affairs, CentraCare
  • Mary Ellen Wells, FACHE, Consumer Representative
  • Brian L. Whited, MD, MBA, Vice Chair, Operations of Mayo Clinic Health System
  • Marie Zimmerman, State Medicaid Director, MN Department of Human Services

Ex Officio (non-voting) members

  • Board SecretaryJulie Sonier, MPA, President, MN Community Measurement
  • TreasurerPam Houg, Office Manager, Minnesota Council of Health Plans
  • Craig Acomb, CEO, Institute for Clinical System Improvement
  • Lawrence Massa, President, Minnesota Hospital Association
  • Jim Schowalter, President and CEO, Minnesota Council of Health Plans
  • Janet Silversmith, CEO, Minnesota Medical Association