Board of Directors & MARC Committee

Board of Directors

As a collaboration-based nonprofit organization, MNCM draws expertise and direction from a diverse group of leaders who represent a variety of health care stakeholders, including the public.

  • Board Chair, Beth Averbeck, MD, Senior Medical Director for Primary Care, HealthPartners
  • Board Vice Chair, Mark Matthias, MD, Physician Vice President, Acute Care Division, CentraCare
  • Joseph Bianco, MD, Director, Primary Care, Essentia Health
  • Cara Broich, RN, CPHQ, Senior Director, Quality & Clinical Advancement, Medica
  • Jon Christianson, PhD, James A. Hamilton Chair in Health Policy, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota
  • Andy Cochrane, Chief Executive Officer, Maple Grove Hospital
  • Clarissa Cox, Vice President of Clinical Operations and Care Transformation, PreferredOne
  • Bentley Graves, Director of Health Care and Transportation Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
  • David Homans, MD, Chief of Specialty Services, Park Nicollet Health Services
  • Deb Krause, Vice President, Minnesota Health Action Group
  • Mariam Mohamed, Consumer Representative
  • Beth Thomas, DO, Associate CMO/System VP of Safety, Fairview Health Services
  • Mark Steffen, MD, MPH, Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota
  • Mary Ellen Wells, FACHE, Consumer Representative
  • Matthew L. Anderson, J.D., Interim President & CEO, Minnesota Hospital Association
  • Steven Inman, MD, Chairman of the Board, Children’s Health Network
  • Secretary, Julie Sonier, MPA, President, MN Community Measurement (ex-officio)
  • Treasurer, Pam Houg, Office Manager, Minnesota Council of Health Plans (ex-officio)
  • Claire Neely, President and Chief Executive Officer, Institute for Clinical System Improvement (ex-officio)
  • Lucas Nesse, JD, President & CEO, Minnesota Council of Health Plans (ex-officio)

MARC Committee

Many health care experts and community members help to shape our work. The Measurement and Reporting Committee (MARC) recommends measurement priorities, specifications, and guiding principals and policies for public reporting of measures.

  • Co-Chair, Sue Knudson, MA, HealthPartners Health Plan Representative
  • Co-Chair, Rahshana Price-Isuk, MD, Neighborhood Healthsource Safety Net Medical Group Representative
  • Barb Anderson, RN, BSN, Mankato Clinic Non-Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Janet Avery, MA, MBA, Retired Public Health Professional Consumer Representative
  • Lori Bethke, MD, Entira Family Clinics Medium Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Joseph Bianco, MD, Essentia Health Non-Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Cara Broich, RN, CPHQ, Medica Health Plan Representative
  • Karolina Craft, Minnesota Department of Human Services Government Agency/Purchaser Representative
  • Matt Flory, American Cancer Society Consumer Representative
  • Sue Gentilli, Allina Clinics Large Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Stefan Gildemeister, Minnesota Department of Health Government Agency Representative
  • Greg Hanley, FACHE, CPHQ, UCare Health Plan Representative
  • Jordan Kautz, MD, MPH, Mayo Clinic Non-Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Deb Krause, Minnesota Health Action Group Purchasers Representative
  • Christine Norton, MN Breast Cancer Coalition Consumer Representative
  • Christopher Restad, MD, Fairview Health System Large Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Jonathan M. Rose, PhD, Sierra Leone Community in MN Consumer Representative
  • Allan Ross, MD, Ortonville Area Health Services Non-Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Laura Saliterman, MD, South Lake Pediatrics Medium Metro Medical Group Representative
  • David Satin, MD, University of Minnesota and University of Minnesota Physicians Large Metro Medical Group Representative
  • Mark Sonneborn, Minnesota Hospital Association Hospital Representative
  • Dan Trajano, MD, MBA, BlueCross and BlueShield of Minnesota Health Plan Representative
  • James (Jess) Wheeler, DO, Park Nicollet Clinic Single Specialty Representative

MARC Committee Meeting Schedule, Agendas, Minutes